Reference Groups

To ensure the Alcohol and Other Drugs Knowledge Centre  meets the purposes for which it has been established, the governing structure includes members from the Drug Strategy Department of the Department of Health (the Knowledge Centre funding body) and an over-arching Reference Group (RG) made up of stakeholders from peak AOD bodies, the workforce at the community level, and those with expertise in relation to the various drugs of concern. These stakeholders come from various states and territories of Australia and include appropriate Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander representation.

The composition of the RG reflects the variety of input required to ensure a robust coverage of the field to best support the workforce at the community level, community members working to reduce the harms of drug use, and programs and policy.

The RG provides a broad view of the drug field and provides invaluable guidance to the Knowledge Centre in terms of the requirements of the workforce, people involved at addressing AOD issues at community level, and senior program managers. As such, the RG provides an important role in informing evidence for both workforce support and policy support. The benefits of this governance structure go beyond the Knowledge Centre website, and foster engagement and synergistic relationships between different stakeholders in the field.

Important information

Culturally sensitive images: Learn more
Disclaimer and Privacy: Learn more
Need help using the website? Visit our help page
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website may contain images, voices and names of people who have passed away.